Our mission

Our mission

Within the IDEFI (Excellence Initiatives for Innovative Education) framework – a call for projects by the Ministry of Education and Research – École des Ponts ParisTech, ENSAVT, UPEMLV, ESIEE Paris and EIVP joined forces to establish the French d.school, equal to international standards and sharing an outlook with Europe’s Living Labs. Its goal is to act as a role model for future educational approaches, with the aim of inspiring a new generation of training programs in breakthrough innovation, through new methods drawing on design thinking, like those established at Stanford University (USA).

Our impact

  • 470
    students trained
  • 56
    teachers trained
  • 14
    industrial partners involved
  • 9
    partner universities

Innovation

The d.school Paris is developing a set of resources and methodologies in breakthrough innovation constructed around humanistic values and adapted to modern economic and industrial conditions. A way of thinking and designing differently, the right kind of attitude for inventing the world of tomorrow, of equal relevance to social actors and economic actors, start-ups and major industrial corporations, entrepreneurship and intrapreneurship.

Breakthrough innovation, as we understand it, is based on interdisciplinarity, from engineering to design, from the humanities to business. In essence, it seeks to break with the tradition of a linear approach to design, by fostering inspiration, ideation and implementation as fundamentals of the project.

The discipline of design thinking enables us to construct this approach through the people, the place and the processes that make it possible. Paris-Est d.school’s pedagogic philosophy is therefore based on a pragmatic and constructivist epistemology, which encourages the acquisition of social skills and know-how through courses based on the implementation of projects in multidisciplinary teams in real-world conditions. These projects, developed in lively workshop spaces, put the primary emphasis on practice, similar to a sports discipline in which theoretical principles are embodied and evidenced in the mastery of action and in team synergy.

 

MireilleBrangeMireille Brangé, Head of Programs at ANR (National Research Agency)

I could see that these projects had momentum, a very powerful dynamic. In the ecosystem of research and education, the d.school represents a break with existing innovation programs, especially with its very strong international collaborations. There is no doubt that the Design Thinking method needs to spread, grow, to combine with other initiatives.”

Mission

Quelle est la mission de la d.school ?

 

Dans le cadre d’IDEFI (Initiatives d’Excellence à la Formation Innovante), appel à projet du Ministère de l’Enseignement et de la Recherche, l’École des Ponts ParisTech, l’EnsaVT, l’UPEM, l’ESIEE Paris et l’EIVP se sont associés pour créer la d.school française, à la hauteur des standards internationaux et dans l’état d’esprit des Living Labs européens. Elle vise à être un démonstrateur des pédagogies du futur avec l’ambition d’inspirer une nouvelle génération de formations en innovation de rupture par de nouvelles méthodes issues du design thinking comme celles formalisées à l’Université de Stanford (USA).

Notre impact

  • 965
    élèves formés
  • 231
    enseignants formés
  • 36
    partenaires industriels impliqués
  • 11
    universités collaboratrices

L’innovation

La d.school Paris développe un ensemble de ressources et de méthodologies d’innovation de rupture articulées autour de valeurs humanistes et dédiées au contexte économique et industriel contemporain. Une façon de penser et concevoir différemment, un état d’esprit propice à inventer le monde de demain, qui concerne aussi bien les acteurs sociaux que les acteurs économiques, les startups que les grands groupes industriels, l’entreprenariat que l’intraprenariat.

L’innovation de rupture telle que nous l’entendons se base sur l’interdisciplinarité, de l’ingénierie au design, des sciences humaines au commerce. Par essence, elle propose de rompre avec la tradition d’une démarche de conception linéaire en favorisant l’inspiration, l’idéation et l’implémentation comme fondements du projet.

La discipline du design thinking nous permet de structurer cet état d’esprit de par les gens, le lieu et les process qui le rendent possible. Ainsi, la philosophie pédagogique de la d.school Paris est basée sur une épistémologie pragmatique et constructiviste qui favorise l’acquisition de savoir-être et de savoir-faire au travers de cours basés sur la réalisation de projets en équipe multidisciplinaires, en regard d’un contexte réel. Ces projets, développés en ateliers au sein d’espaces vivants, font plus de place à la pratique, à l’image d’une discipline sportive où les principes théoriques s’incarnent et se vérifient dans la maîtrise de l’action et la synergie collective.

 

MireilleBrangeMireille Brangé, Responsable de programmes à l’ANR (Agence Nationale de la Recherche)

« J’ai perçu un mouvement, une dynamique très forte dans ces projets d’étudiants. C’est passionnant de voir ces étudiants qui concrétisent de tels projets. La d.school, dans l’écosystème de la recherche et de la formation, est en rupture avec les formations en innovation existantes particulièrement avec des collaborations à l’international très fortes. Il est certain que la méthode du Design Thinking doit se diffuser, s’accroître, capitaliser avec d’autres initiatives. »

 

En savoir plus l'ANR et les IDEFI

L'appel à projet