Students

Student programs

At the d.school, we offer 2 formats for the study of design thinking: full-time or part-time. The ME310 Design Innovation program is the only full-time course covering an academic year: it admits students from any French educational institution and from all disciplines. The other programs are half-day modules over one semester, which form part of the curriculum for students in our consortium (ENPC, EIVP, UPEM, ESIEE, and EAVT).

Each course includes a real-world output that creates value for the partner, by reinventing an experience for target users. To achieve this outcome, students learn by iterative practice at each stage of the process: listening, imagining, designing, and producing are key activities.

  • INTRODUCTION TO DESIGN THINKING Industrial Engineering department of ENPC

    The program teaches innovation through the discipline of design thinking. Its focus is on active learning, alternating between lectures, tutorials and completion of a small-scale project. It teaches the basics of the discipline, which will then be reapplied by students in their projects within the Innovacteurs department. This course seeks to initiate student engineers into the discipline of design thinking. It is punctuated by practical exercises in needfinding, in empathy (the primary quality of all innovators) and in the understanding of the importance of the intercultural dimension in innovation.

    Read more

  • INNOVACTEURS From development to implementation

    Starting from a specific brief and working in multidisciplinary teams, students apply the knowledge acquired in the first semester of training in design thinking to run a project that culminates in the production of an innovation prototype. Some projects are conducted in partnership with companies like Tarkette, Suez Environnement, Nestlé. In 2014, three Innovacteurs students worked on social enterprise projects abroad, in Togo, Ecuador and Tunisia. Other projects are implemented in France, with industrial partners and technical subjects such as app development.

    Read more

  • D.SENIORS Innovate for elderly people with design thinking

    The first interinstitutional program set up by d.school Paris takes students from four institutions and teaches innovation through the discipline of design thinking. All the action-projects are based on real problems brought by a network of partners from the socio-economic world: to have a real impact is fundamental. This seminar puts students in the skin of an innovator, by focusing on the problems of older people. Students must not only acquire knowledge from fieldwork, but also from their research into the challenges and realities of the problems facing older people as they lose independence.

    Read more

  • D.STRUCTURE Build a structure that meets real needs!

    d.structure is a d.school course that was set up in September 2014 for students at ENSAVT and second-year students in the Civil Engineering Department of École des Ponts. The aim of the course is to apply Design Thinking tools to the building of a structure on the campus. The briefs for years 2014 and 2015 were as follows: to design a structure for a sociable break area on the forecourt of ENPC (2014) and at the entrance to EAVT (2015), using plywood boards as the only construction material. Drawing on research into user practices, and employing the methods of design thinking, students design and build a space for campus users: staff, students, visitors… After their ideas have been agreed with these users and the course supervisors, and the structural calculations made, the students must build the structure with a quantity of materials decided at the start of the project.

    Read more

  • ME310 DESIGN INNOVATION Become a professional in design thinking !

    We offer you the opportunity to go beyond the “paper project” and have a real impact on major societal, industrial and environmental issues. In the course of a full-time academic year, three multidisciplinary teams of four students each, located at d.school and in an institution belonging to the international network headed by Stanford University (including HPI Potsdam in Germany and Aalto University’s Design Factory in Finland), innovate from a real-world brief, with high strategic stakes, brought by an industrial partner and entailing the reinvention of a product/service in a potential growth market.

    Read more

  • FIELD TRIP An entirely practical course, all in English!

    This course, based on real projects, promotes learning through action, using the Jardin Pontanique as a place of experiment. The interdisciplinary approach in this entirely English language program will focus on researching, organizing, and implementing a project in a variety of domains, such as the design of sustainable methods for cultivating food, rainwater collection, building with recycled or unused materials, supporting local authorities, promoting biodiversity, and other construction or farming projects, in and around Jardin Pontanique (the School’s garden) or in the new space created around the Coriolis Building. The aim of this program is to teach students to observe and protect biodiversity on the campus, and to raise their awareness of the impact it has on the student community.

    Read more

  • MBA SOLVAY-PONTS A seminar of introduction to design thinking

    The d.school offers of students on the Solvay-Ponts MBA program a one-week course in design thinking. This course gives the participants a structure that helps them to understand how innovation can be managed strategically. This will be of particular benefit to students interested in the management of an organization where technology plays an important role, but also those wishing to become consultants for such big organizations or to change innovation policies. Although the emphasis will be on profit-making companies, the course is also applicable to non-profit organizations.

    Read more

Etudiants

Les formations étudiantes

À la d.school, nous proposons aux étudiants 2 formats de cours au design thinking : à temps plein ou partiel. Le cours ME310 Design Innovation est le seul cours à temps plein sur une année scolaire : il accueille des étudiants de n’importe quel établissement français et de toutes disciplines. Les autres cours sont des modules d’une demi-journée sur un semestre qui s’inscrivent dans le parcours éducatif des étudiants de notre consortium (ENPC, EIVP, UPEM, ESIEE et EAVT).

Chaque cours inclut une réalisation concrète qui crée de la valeur pour un partenaire en réinventant une expérience pour des personnes cibles. Pour atteindre ce résultat, les élèves apprennent en pratiquant, d’une façon itérative, et à chaque étape du processus : écouter, imaginer, créer et réaliser sont des activités clefs.

  • INTRODUCTION AU DESIGN THINKING Pour les étudiants Génie Industriel de l'ENPC

    Cours d’initiation design thinking, les élèves y découvrent les principaux outils de recherche ethnographique, les principes de prototypage, diverses méthodes de créativité, le storytelling, l’importance de la scénarisation des espaces. Savoirs, savoirs être et savoir faire de la discipline y sont introduits et seront développés au second semestre dans le cours Innovacteurs.

    En savoir plus

  • INNOVACTEURS Un cours-action d'innovation pour des partenaires

    À partir d’un brief donné par un industriel (ou une ONG pour les projets d’entreprenariat social) et afin d’appliquer les connaissances acquises dans le cours d’introduction au design thinking du premier semestre (Ecobootcamp), les étudiants de deuxième année du département Génie Industriel de l’École des Ponts réalisent un projet en équipe qui aboutit à la réalisation d’un prototype d’une innovation. Certains projets se font en France avec des partenaires industriels, comme Tarkett, Suez Environnement, Nestlé ou encore SNCF Transilien.

    En savoir plus

  • D.SENIORS Innover pour nos aînés avec le design thinking dans une EHPAD

    Le premier cours inter-établissement créé par d.school Paris accueille des élèves venant des quatre établissements (EIVP, ENPC, ESIEE et EAVT) et enseigne l’innovation pour les personnes âgées par la discipline du Design Thinking. Ce cours est orienté projet et action. Tous les projets-action sont basés sur des problématiques réelles données par un réseau de partenaires du milieu socio-économique : créer un impact réel est fondamental. Les élèves doivent acquérir des connaissances sur le Design Thinking et sur les enjeux et réalités liés aux problématiques des seniors en perte d’autonomie.

    En savoir plus

  • D.STRUCTURE Construisez une structure qui répond à de vrais besoins !

    d.structure est un cours de la d.school créé en septembre 2014 et à destination des étudiants de l’ENSAVT et des élèves de 2ème année de l’École des Ponts du département Génie Civil. L’objectif du cours est d’appliquer les outils du Design Thinking à la réalisation d’une structure sur le campus. Le brief pour les années 2014 et 2015 était le suivant : concevoir une structure permettant une pause conviviale sur le parvis de l’ENPC (2014) et à l’entrée de l’EAVT (2015) avec pour seuls matériaux de construction des panneaux de bois multiplis. En partant des usages et en mettant en oeuvre les méthodes du design thinking, les étudiants doivent concevoir puis réaliser un espace pour les utilisateurs du campus : personnel, étudiants, visiteurs… Après validation de leurs idées avec ces personnes et les encadrants, puis calcul de la structure, les étudiants doivent la construire, avec une quantité de matériaux définie dès le début du projet.

    En savoir plus

  • ME310 DESIGN INNOVATION Devenez expert en innovation !

    Pendant un an à temps plein, deux équipes multidisciplinaires de quatre étudiants chacune, situés à la d.school et dans un établissement du réseau international SUGAR chapeauté par Stanford University innovent à partir d’un brief d’innovation fourni par un partenaire industriel et représentant de grands enjeux. Les étudiants abordent ainsi des contextes et partent à la rencontre d’utilisateurs réels, notamment grâce aux outils de l’ethnographie et du prototypage. L’objectif final ? Proposer une solution faisable techniquement, viable économiquement et désirable pour ses utilisateurs avec un véritable impact pour l’entreprise.

    En savoir plus

  • FIELD TRIP Un cours en anglais tout en pratique !

    Ce cours basé sur des projets réels promeut l’apprentissage par l’action, il utilise le Jardin Pontanique comme lieu d’expérimentation. L’approche interdisciplinaire de ce cours (intégralement en anglais) se concentrera sur la recherche d’un projet, son organisation et sa mise en œuvre dans des domaines variés tels que la création de méthodes d’écologie durable pour cultiver de la nourriture, la collecte de l’eau de pluie, la construction avec du matériel recyclé ou inutilisé, le renforcement des collectivités, la recherche sur la biodiversité, et d’autre projets de construction ou d’agriculture, dans et autour du Jardin Pontanique ou dans le nouvel espace créé autour du bâtiment Coriolis. L’objectif de ce cours est de permettre aux étudiants d’observer et de préserver la biodiversité du campus et de se rendre compte de l’impact qu’elle a sur la communauté étudiante.

    En savoir plus

  • ECOLE DES PONTS MBA Un séminaire pour découvrir le design thinking

    La d.school propose aux étudiants du MBA Solvay-Ponts une formation au design thinking d’une semaine. Ce cours fournit aux participants une structure qui permet de comprendre comment l’innovation peut être gérée de manière stratégique. Cela sera d’un intérêt tout particulier pour les étudiants intéressés par le management d’une organisation dans laquelle la technologie joue un rôle important, mais également ceux qui souhaitent devenir consultants pour ces organisations ou changer les politiques d’innovation. Bien que l’accent sera mis sur les entreprises générant du chiffre d’affaires, le cours s’applique aussi pour les organisations à but non lucratif.

    En savoir plus